# 8.-Lieutenant-Governors of Provinces, 1867-1925, and present Ministries-concluded.

### BRITISH COLUMBIA-concluded.

## NINETEENTH MINISTRY.

Office.	Name.	Date of Appointment.	
Premier and President of the Council.	Hon. John Oliver	Mar. 6, 1918	
finister of Finance, Education and In- dustries.	Hon. J. D. McLean	Mar. 6, 1918	
ttorney - General and Minister of Labour	Hon. A. M. Manson	Jan. 28, 1922	
inister of Lands		Mar. 6, 1918 April 25, 1918	
rovincial Secretary and Minister of Mines	Hon. William Sloan	Mar. 6, 1918	
Inister of Public Works and Minister of Railways	Hon. W. H. Sutherland	· ·	

#### THE TERRITORIES.

Note.—In 1888 the districts of Alberta, Assiniboia, Athabaska and Saskatchewan, called the Northwest Territories, with their capital at Regina, were given local responsible government, and the old Northwest Council was replaced by the Northwest Legislature, which existed until Aug. 31, 1905. When the area approximately comprised within their limits was formed into the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan in 1905, these provinces were given systems of government similar to the other provinces of the Dominion. The remaining areas (the Yukon Territory and the provisional districts of Franklin, Keewatin and Mackenzie) are now administered by the Northwest Territories Branch of the Department of the Interior.

#### LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS.

Name.	Date of Appointment.	Name.	Date of Appointment.
A. G. Archibald Francis Goodschall Johnson Alexander Morris David Laird Edgar Dewdney	Dec. 2, 1872 Oct. 7, 1876	M. C. Cameron	May 30, 1898 Oct. 11, 1898

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Second term.

# IV.—THE CANADIAN HIGH COMMISSIONER AND THE PROVINCIAL AGENTS-GENERAL.

The policy of the early North American colonies, of maintaining in London accredited representatives for business and diplomatic purposes, was recognized in the eighteenth century as being a more satisfactory means of communication with the home government than that provided by occasional official visits or by correspondence. Edmund Burke, the noted British statesman, held the position of agent of the colony of New York for some years following 1771. Of the Canadian colonies, Nova Scotia was the first to adopt the plan, its legislature having appointed an agent in London in 1761. New Brunswick was similarly represented in 1786, Upper Canada as early as 1794, Lower Canada in 1812 and British Columbia in 1857. For some years after 1845, several of the colonies were represented in London by Crown Agents, appointed by the Secretary of State, and paid by the colonies themselves. This system, however, was of but short duration.